Our File/N/Réf. Your File/V/Réf.

DATE: 8 November 1999

TO/DEST: Co-ordinator, Transit Services Committee

FROM/EXP: General Manager

SUBJECT/OBJET: ACCESSIBLE TRANSIT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

DEPARTMENTAL RECOMMENDATION

That the Transit Services Committee appoint the persons listed herein as members or alternates of the Accessible Transit Advisory Committee for the period 1 November 1999 to 31 October 2001.

BACKGROUND

On 3 June 1992, the Commission approved the formation of a twelve member Accessible Transit Advisory Committee (ATAC). The main purpose of this committee has been to advise OC Transpo of the transportation needs of persons with disabilities on OC Transpo's regular transit system and on its Para Transpo service.

Members are generally appointed for two year terms and may be re-appointed by the Transit Services Committee.

The term for all current members ended in October this year. Seven of the current members have indicated their desire to serve on the committee for an additional term and five members will be leaving the committee to make room for new members. Five new members plus alternates are therefore required.

OC Transpo advertised in the local newspapers and invited applications from persons interested in serving on the committee. Applications were received from 13 persons, 12 of which were interviewed.

The three members of the Nominating Committee who conducted the interviews were

ATAC Chair -Jeffrey Alguire
ATAC Vice-Chair -Stephen St-Denis
Commissioner -Wendy Byrne

The proposed members of the ATAC committee effective November 1999 are listed in Schedule 1. They provide a cross-section of representation by age, and include representation from groups with special concerns for persons who have difficulty using transit. All those recommended are regular users of either Para Transpo or OC Transpo's regular transit system.

OC Transpo would like to take this opportunity to thank all those who have served on the committee over the past few years. They have made a valuable contribution towards improving transportation services for persons with a disability.

Approved by Gordon Diamond

SCHEDULE 1 ACCESSIBLE TRANSIT ADVISORY COMMITTEE (ATAC) EFFECTIVE NOVEMBER 1999

1) Jeffrey Alguire (ATAC Chair)

A Para Transpo customer who has been very active in the activities of ATAC over the past few years.

2) Barbara Anderson (Current Member)

A Para Transpo customer who has been active in the activities of ATAC over the past few years.

3) **Jon Burgess (Current Member)**

A Para Transpo customer who has been active in the activities of ATAC over the past few years.

4) Florence Pool (Current Member)

A Para Transpo customer who has been active in the activities of ATAC and has represented the Ottawa and District Post Polio Association.

5) Nickie Cassidy (Current Member)

A regular transit customer who has been very active in the activities of ATAC and is also ATAC's representative on the Regional Transit Advisory Committee (RTAC).

6) **John Hay (Current Member)**

A Para Transpo customer who also uses regular transit when he is able to do so. He has been active in the activities of ATAC over the past few years.

7) Michael Kent (Current Member)

A regular transit customer who has represented the Council on Aging.

8) Pierre Vachon (New Member)

A Para Transpo customer who also represents Disabled Persons Community Resources.

9) Michael O=Riain (New Member)

A Para Transpo customer who has worked at the Rehabilitation Centre and currently volunteers for the M.S. Society.

10) Shirley Walker (New Member)

A Para Transpo customer who is a recently retired Registered Nurse.

11) Johana Succee (New Member)

A Para Transpo customer who uses OC Transpo's wheelchair accessible regular service daily. Also works at the Ottawa-Carleton Independent Living Centre.

12) Allen Cormier (New Member)

A regular transit customer who volunteers at St. Vincent's Hospital and works with seniors at Ottawa West Community Services.

ALTERNATES

13) Cécile Paquette

A Para Transpo customer who has a teaching background

14) Kevin Kinsella

A Para Transpo customer who has years of experience as a member of other advisory committees.

15) Ian Black

A Para Transpo customer who has years of experience as a member of a transportation advisory committee.