REGION OF OTTAWA CARLETON

RÉGION D'OTTAWA CARLETON

MEMORANDUM NOTE DE SERVICE

Our File/N/Réf. Your File/V/Réf.	P.1.2.11.1
DATE	21 April 1999
TO/DEST.	Chair and Members of Council
FROM/EXP.	Acting Regional Solicitor Director, Development Approvals Division
SUBJECT/OBJET	DELEGATION OF CONSENT GRANTING AUTHORITY TO GOULBOURN, OSGOODE, RIDEAU AND WEST CARLETON

Regional Council on 24 February 1999 (Planning and Environment Committee Report 25, Item 2) approved the delegation of the authority to grants consents to sever land pursuant to the *Planning Act* to the Councils of Goulbourn, Osgoode, Rideau and West Carleton. As outlined in the report, these four municipalities intend to co-operate in creating a severance committee composed of appointed officials that will consider applications for consents to sever in the four municipalities.

Negotiations between regional and municipal staff have established 21 May 1999 as the date for the transfer of jurisdiction. Effective on that date, applications for consents to sever in these four municipalities will be considered by their severance committee. However, with respect to applications made before that date, the Region is obligated to continue its Land Division Committee.

As a result, the by-law before Council at its meeting of 28 April 1999 has been drafted to continue the Region's Land Division for the sole purpose of disposing of applications made prior to 21 May 1999. In creating the severance committee for the four rural municipalities, the municipalities have decided to appoint four of the current five members of the current Land Division Committee; Preston Ralph, Jack Shaw, William Simpson and James Waddell. The fifth person, Ken Young, was chosen through a process of seeking of applications and interviews.

In order that the transfer of jurisdiction provide as little difficulty as possible for the public at large, the by-law provides that these same five individuals be constituted as the Region's Land Division Committee. Similarly, the by-law provides that the individual chosen to do the

administrative work for the rural severance committee, Gwen Wilson, will be the secretarytreasurer of the Region's Land Division Committee as it completes the consideration of the remaining files before it.

A copy of the draft by-law is attached to this memo.

Approved by E.A. Johnston

Approved by R.B. Edgington

EAJ/RBE/TCM

cc: Planning and Development Approvals Commissioner Regional Clerk Chief Administrative Officer

THE REGIONAL MUNICIPALITY OF OTTAWA-CARLETON

BY-LAW NO. OF 1999

ADMINISTRATION (P.1.2.11.1)

BEING a by-law to delegate the authority to grants consents pursuant to the *Planning* Act, section 53 to the Township of Goulbourn, Osgoode, Rideau and West Carleton.

WHEREAS pursuant to the *Planning Act*, section 54, the Region is authorized to delegate the authority to grant consents pursuant to section 53 of the Act to the Councils of area municipalities;

AND WHEREAS it is deemed desirable to delegate this authority to the Councils of the Corporations of the Townships of Goulbourn, Osgoode, Rideau and West Carleton;

AND WHEREAS it is necessary to revise the membership of the Land Division Committee of the Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton to complete the consideration of consents where the application is made prior to this by-law coming into force;

NOW THEREFORE the Council of The Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:

1. <u>DELEGATION</u>

The Corporate Policy Manual, subsection 7.6.1.3(a) is amended by the addition of the following:

- (viii) The Corporation of the Township of Goulbourn
- (ix) The Corporation of the Township of Osgoode
- (x) The Corporation of the Township of Rideau
- (xi) The Corporation of the Township of West Carleton

2. <u>DOCUMENTS</u>

Section 7.6.1.3 is further amended by adding the following subsection:

(f) All documentation in respect of applications for consent under the *Planning* Act provided by the Regional Corporation to the Corporations of the Townships of Goulbourn, Osgoode, Rideau and West Carleton shall be returned to the Region upon request and employees and authorized agents of the Regional Corporation shall at all time be given reasonable access to such documentation.

DRAFT

3. TRANSITIONAL MATTERS

(1) The Land Division Committee of the Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton is hereby continued for the purposes of disposing of applications for consents pursuant to the *Planning Act*, section 53 in respect of land within the Townships of Goulbourn, Osgoode, Rideau and West Carleton made prior to this by-law coming into force.

(2) Effective 21 May 1999, the membership of the Land Division Committee shall be Preston Ralph, Jack Shaw, William Simpson, James Waddell. and Ken Young

(3) The members of the Land Division Committee shall hold office for three years and until their successors are appointed.

(4) Effective 21 May 1999, the secretary-treasurer of the Land Division Committee shall be Gwen Wilson.

4. <u>EFFECTIVE DATE</u>

This by-law shall come into force on 21 May 1999.

ENACTED AND PASSED in Open Council this 28th day of April, 1999.

REGIONAL CHAIR

REGIONAL CLERK

DRAFT